Hint: When moving cows, shut the gate!

Well I guess the title says it all! It was cow moving time again and this time I thought to myself, “I’ll let the cows into the winter paddock to have a good old run around while I set the next two cells up ready for grazing.” And a good ol’ run they had! They wandered down to the front fence and ate mouthfuls of lush green grass and kept wandering the fence line. Mean while, I was up setting the electric fence and knew that Lightning would easily and eagerly help me move the girls and boy back to the cells. Busy as I was, I forgot to shut the double gates to the winter paddock and the cows made their way to the orchard! As soon as I saw them I dumped my stuff and bolted up there to get them back in. Lightning made short work of them, but they got damn close to having a nibble on the apple trees!

So the moral of this story… shut the bloody gate!

Leave a Reply

