Grafting Cherries

Tonight I picked up 28 MM101 cherry rootstock and 20 MM101 pear rootstock, along with 28 cherry and well over 50 pear scion, ready for grafting! I managed 12 tonight and will bring along a few to work to do a mini workshop on grafting and aim to have all the cherries finished by tomorrow night! Hopefully they take well and I haven’t stuffed them up… a couple of my cuts were a little to small, but I think they will be fine, only time will tell. Within the next few weeks, the buds will burst and I will know for sure if they have taken or not, until then, a lot of TLC, water and sunshine!

12 grafts completed! 3 of each of Napoleon (yellow), Ron’s Seedling, Blackboy and Regal Ranier.

Leave a Reply

